Water polo

Aquatics Water Polo is a pool discipline on which two teams face each other. The objective of the game is to score as much goals as possible on the opposite team goal. The teams are made of six players and one goalkeeper; TO DIFFERENTIATE FROM EACH OTHER CAPS ARE OF DIFFERENT COLORS. There are faults, temporary and definite expulsions.

A game is divided into four times of effective game (when the ball is in play) of eight minutes each. This intense discipline requires for their players to stand out because of their physical resistance, good reflexes and benign good swimmers.
Water Polo will be played at the Aquatic Center of the National Stadium Park in Santiago, and grants direct quotas to the next World Aquatics World Championships in Doha 2024, along with granting direct quotas to the next Olympic Games in Paris 2024.

In the picture, a male water polo player catching the ball that is going straight to the net.

History of this sport

Water polo emerged in the late 19th century in England and Scotland, although it was originally called water handball.

Between 1890 and 1900 the discipline spread throughout Europe and tournaments were organized in Germany, Austria, France, Belgium, Hungary and Italy following the rules developed in England. In 1900 it became part of the Olympic Games.

The discipline, which is celebrated in both men's and women's events, made its appearance at the Pan American Games since its first edition in Buenos Aires in 1951.

The record number of medals is led by the U.S. delegation with 18 gold medals.

In the picture, a male water polo player catching the ball that is going straight to the net.

How do you practice it?

The game is played in a swimming pool, where two teams face each other, and the winner is the one that scores the most goals in regulation time.

It is a constant feature of the game to mark and unmark, to go in pursuit of the opponent when he tries to elude him. And, at the same time, players sneak away as soon as a teammate comes into possession of the ball, so that they can receive it freely and watch the play. The penalty shoot is a punishment for serious foul when committed inside a 6mt area in front of the goal. 

It is prohibited for players to step on the floor of the pool, and the depth of the pool generally does not allow them to do so. Players have to float for the entire game, which consumes a lot of energy.

Other prohibitions include the following: putting the ball underwater, holding on to the edges of the pool or goal posts during play, hitting the ball with the fist, pushing or unblocking an opponent who is not in possession of the ball, kicking, touching the ball with both hands and standing less than two meters from the goal line when not in possession of the ball.


What is allowed in water polo? Mark the options:

Check answer

Information for the community

Follow Instagram to watch performances and preparation of the National Teams, as well as Chilean players in Europe and North America.

Go back to sports